LOEWE FOUNDATION / Studio Voltaire Award

Launched in March 2021, the LOEWE FOUNDATION / Studio Voltaire Award celebrates talent, creative thinking and individuality within contemporary art practice. The award works to increase and strengthen equitable representation and access, and amplify artistic voices across class, race, gender, sexuality and disability. 

In 2021, seven artists were awarded:

  • Rent–free studio space at Studio Voltaire for two-years
  • An individualised programme of mentoring and professional development 
  • Curatorial and pastoral support 
  • A £2000 bursary

Ayo Akingbade
Ufuoma Essi
Adam Farah
Nnena Kalu
Djofray Makumbu
Josiah Moktar
Solomon Garçon

In 2022, cultural producer and independent publisher Beatrix Pang Sin Kwok 彭倩幗 was awarded the inaugural international residency comprising:

Via the award, Pang will receive:

  • A £25,000 stipend to support living costs and accommodation.
  • A rent-free studio at Studio Voltaire for the 12–month duration of the residency.
  • Budget for travel, equipment, materials and production.
  • Bespoke professional development and mentoring programme.

Awarded artists were nominated and chosen by a panel of curators and artists.

2021 Nominators:

Sheryll Catto (ActionSpace)
Teresa Cisneros (Independent curator, writer and cultural producer)
Alice Cretney (Turf Projects)
David Hevey (Shape Arts)
Zaiba Jabbar (Hervisions)
Juliet Jacques (Filmmaker, critic and writer)
Eliel Jones (Independent curator)
Rabz Lansiquot & Imani Robinson (Languid Hands)
Emily Pope (Artist & Montez Press)
Gaby Sahhar (Queer Direct)
Dr Mark Sealy MBE (Autograph ABP)
Bolanle Tajudeen (Black Blossoms)
Linsey Young (Tate Britain)
Abbas Zahedi (Artist)
Rehana Zaman (Artist)

2021 Selection Panel:

Sepake Angiama (Iniva)
Andrew Bonacina (The Hepworth Wakefield)
Anthea Hamilton (Artist)
Maggie Matić (Studio Voltaire)
Elizabeth Price (Artist)
Joe Scotland (Studio Voltaire)

2022 Selection Panel: 

Billy Tang (Executive Director and Curator, Para Site)
Joe Scotland (Director, Studio Voltaire)
Maggie Matić (Curator, Studios & Residencies, Studio Voltaire)

2022 Nominators:

Para Site, Hong Kong
Asia Art Archive, Hong Kong
M+, Hong Kong

In partnership with


The LOEWE FOUNDATION was established as a private cultural foundation in 1988 by Enrique Loewe, a fourth–generation member of LOEWE’s founding family. Today, the Foundation continues to promote creativity, organise educational programmes and protect cultural heritage in the fields of craft, design, photography, poetry and dance. The Foundation was awarded the Gold Medal for Merit in the Fine Arts by the Spanish government in 2002.  

More information:
web | www.loewe.com
blog | www.blogfundacionloewe.es
Instagram | @loewefoundation